Land Survey Council

About Us

Land Survey Council

The Land Survey Council of Sri Lanka is constituted under section 27 of the Survey Act No. 17 of 2002. This Act is established by repealing The Land Survey Ordinance (Chapter 458) and The Surveyors Ordinance (Chapter 108). The Council comprises of the Surveyor General as ex-officio Chairman, the Additional Surveyor General as ex-officio Vice Chairman, the director ISM ex-officio Member, three Registered Surveyors nominated by the Surveyors Institute of Sri Lanka incorporated by the incorporation Act No.22 of 1982 and one academic nominated by the University Grants Commission.


To ensure the optimal sustainable utilization of our physical natural resources for national development by maintaining the integrity of the regulatory framework for Land Surveying thereby strengthening the professional environment focusing on quality professional surveying services in a competitive global marketplace.


To ensure that the Profession of Surveying and its practices are well regulated and that those entering the profession receive education and training commensurate with the modern technological demands and ethical standards expected of the profession, so that practitioners maintain the highest standards of professional conduct.

Annual Reports

The Council is required under section 53 of the Survey Act No. 17 of 2002 to submit an annual Report of the work done during the previous year up to 31st December to the Hon. Minister in charge of the subject of Land to be tabled in the parliment.

Council Members

The membership of the Board

ChairmanMr. S. Sivanantharajah Surveyor General (ex-officio)
Vice Chairman Mr. W.S.L.C. Perera Addl. Surveyor General (ex-officio)
Member Mr. U.K.S.P. Wijesinghe Director-Institute of Surveying and Mapping, Diyatalawa (ex-officio)
Member Prof. K.M.C. Konthesingha Nominee of the University Grants Commission
Member Mr. N.A. Gunawardena Nominee of the Surveyors Institute of Sri Lanka
Member Mr. K.A.K.L. Edirisinghe Nominee of the Surveyors Institute of Sri Lanka
Member Mr. J.M. Wijewardana Nominee of the Surveyors Institute of Sri Lanka

Information Officers

Contact No
Information OfficerMr. P.D. Anurasiri076-7605386
Nominated OfficerMr. W.S.L.C. Perera 011-2508038

Contact Us

Telephone Fax Mobile
LSC Office011-2504286011-2504286
Chairman S. Sivanantharajah 011-2368569011-2369343071-6642321
Vice Chairman W.S.L.C. Perera 011-2508038011-2369462071-1907137
Member U.K.S.P. Wijesinghe057-2229315057-2229004077-2931917
Member K.M.C. Kanthesingha011-2650184 011-2651786070-2704888
Member N.A. Gunawardena 011-2841478071-4782284
Member K.A.K.L. Edirisinghe 045-2274191077-7569191
MemberJ.M. Wijewardana033-2221991077-7066424